Hopkins or UCSF (accepted off waitlist)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Appoggiatura

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,
I'd like some input, especially from current students, about choosing between these two schools. I realize that this is a good problem to have, but it's a hard decision ahh.

Basically, I'm a CA resident and would ideally like an academic career in a neuro specialty in California (or a large city in other areas). UCSF is marginally cheaper than Hopkins for me, since I don't anticipate getting that much aid, and the cost of living is higher in San Francisco. I originally committed to Hopkins because its research/hospital is traditionally strong in neurology/neurosurgery and because of its reputation/network. I'm not too picky with curriculum styles, and I'm more concerned with meshing with a laidback and cooperative student body, finding supportive mentors, and being able to do translational and clinical research (I'm not too informed about the budgeting for UC schools currently, so that could be an issue? I dunno).

Thanks for any and all help!!

Members don't see this ad.

Basically, I'm a CA resident...I'm more concerned with meshing with a laidback and cooperative student body