intubation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

gasman654

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a 3rd yer med student interested in anesthesiology and am currently near the end of my 2 week core anesthesiology rotation.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
It takes dozens of intubations to begin to be comfortable. There is no one on earth who can't, with practice and good instruction, become proficient at it. Profiency in procedures is not expected in rotating 4th year med students. 4th year students who come in thinking that they're proficient worry us more than the ones who come in knowing they're not good at it. Don't sweat it.

Two suggestions
1) Take the time to get the patient in good position before induction, including table height. Preoxygenate well, so you don't feel hurried.
2) Give the muscle relaxant time to work. Succ is quick, but give roc a minute+ to work. One of the reasons 2nd attempts by someone else can look so easy after your initial flail is because the drugs have had time to work. And take this time to practice mask ventilation, when appropriate - it's a more important skill than intubation, but underappreciated.

Reactions: 1 users
4th year students who come in thinking that they're proficient worry us more than the ones who come in knowing they're not good at it.

+1

I'm far more interested in med students being involved and interested in learning than I am in whether they've already achieved procedural competence.

Best advice I can give you is to sign up for a 4 week elective. I agree with each thing pgg wrote (with the caveat that people who just don't care about learning won't become good - that's the one thing we can't teach trainees about intubating!) but hands-on advice from someone who can watch what you're doing is priceless.