Hospice Companion Volunteer - Good Gauge of Passion for Health Care?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IcedCoffeeOnly

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I just recently graduated with a B.A. in Math from Cal, and I've been working as a technical recruiter for about 2 months. I bought into the SWE hype in Silicon Valley, and didn't give myself even a single semester to explore what I really liked. 4 years of denial later, it turns out I just cannot program for a career due to a complete lack of passion, so I took on a technical recruiting role at a rather big company so I can at least put my tech background to some use.

I've been exploring different fields with "freshman eyes" now, taking Coursera classes on fields I'm curious about and networking.

In addition to all this, I'd like to get some hands-on experience in health care or something similar to gauge what it’s really like. It doesn’t seem like it’s something I can learn or read about without getting involved.

I’ve been looking for volunteer opportunities in health care, and I cannot commit to hospital volunteering due to my work schedule (all volunteer shifts are between 8-5 weekdays). The only thing I think I can make work is hospice companionship volunteering on weekends. Is this activity something I can gauge my passion for health care with? Not necessarily a doctor's role, but healthcare in general? What other activities do you recommend that can be done on weekends that's can tell me if I might want to pursue a career in healthcare? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.