1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Hospital Hiring Requirements?

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by duskandlight, May 3, 2007.

1. duskandlight

2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    I want to work in the pharmacy at a hospital. right now im a 6 month tech retail. what does somebody need to become a hospital pharm tech? i am going to be certified in august.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. sdn1977

sdn1977 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Well....it all depends on what state you're in.

But, generally, you need a negative PPD skin test & experience.

4. KellyBean

2+ Year Member

Post Doc
    I'm positive PPD and no prior experience and still got hired at the hospital. But it was not easy to get that job. It took me 9 months to finally land that job. Just look online and if you have an opening, then just apply for it. But a lot of hospitals require that you're certified and have at least 1 year experience.

5. lozthegreat

10+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    You will probally need to pass a generic/name brand test and a math test (for compounding IVs).... at least thats what I had to do.

6. Da Alchemist

2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy
    Just curious, are you tb positive? or did you have bcg vaccination when you were a baby that reacted to ppd test? Because I had a bcg vaccination but i never had a ppd skin test. Im afraid I will be ppd positive also if i take the test and have trouble getting a job at the hospital as a pharmtech.

7. duskandlight

2+ Year Member

Pre-Pharmacy