Hospital Staffing Pharmacists and Residencies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chris co2012

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
All the major hospitals in my area (semi-big city) have made the decision to only hire residents. So even staffing pharmacists will need a PGY-1.

As a student, my goal at graduation is finding a staffing pharmacist position in a very small town hospital (no particular preference where). Am I going to have to worry about the elimination of pharmacists without residencies?

I mean, at this point, my degree has ALREADY been outdated and I haven't even graduated yet.

Members don't see this ad.

Can you elaborate some on what you mean by your degree already being outdated?

All the major hospitals in my area (semi-big city) have made the decision to only hire residents. So even staffing pharmacists will need a PGY-1.

As a student, my goal at graduation is finding a staffing pharmacist position in a very small town hospital (no particular preference where). Am I going to have to worry about the elimination of pharmacists without residencies?

I mean, at this point, my degree has ALREADY been outdated and I haven't even graduated yet.

It will likely be an issue in larger teaching hospitals or more progressive hospitals in big cities. I don't think it will be an issue for you in a small town hospital. While a PGY-1 may make you a more solid candidate for the position I think there are still oportunities for plain old staffer positions in the hospital setting for new grads.

Members don't see this ad :)
Like others have said, I don't think it'll be a big deal in a small town. Small town hospitals generally have trouble finding PharmDs who want to move there and won't mind that you don't have a residency.