hospital volunteering: finish committment or stop wasting time with it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cerulean

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
The university hospital that I volunteered at has a 3 semester committment for student volunteers. I volunteered there for one semester during my freshman year and essentially restocked supplies with little patient interaction. I'm trying to decide if I should continue volunteering there to fulfill my committment (2 more semesters) or if I should cut my losses and not bother.

My situation: I'm entering my senior year. I have very little clinical experience (only that one semester of volunteering + watching one open heart surgery). If i don't do the other second semesters of volunteering, I doubt I can rely on being able to list that first semester of volunteering on AMCAS. However, volunteering there was useless in gaining any meaningful clinical experience and I don't see any educational reason for spending 4 hrs/ week for the next 2 semesters doing something that I'm not going to learn from.

I'm not applying until next cycle so I was hoping to do some shadowing in the 2nd semester and then do something more intensive over the summer (volunteer full-time in an international or at least urban medical setting) if possible.

If this plan seems possible to achieve and seems like it would provide sufficient clinical expereince, I'm quite willing to forsake putting the one semester of volunteering down (and thus eliminating the need to volunteer for 2 more semesters). However, if it seems like hospital volunteering would still be beneficial from an application standpoint, please let me know.

Members don't see this ad.

Volunteering is volunteering, it isn't like you have to be volunteering catching babies falling from burning buildings.