Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

hospital volunteering.... I'm just starting out!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by sunfest, May 30, 2002.

1. sunfest

sunfest Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

hey :) I've been lurking for a couple of months and just got myself registered :) yippee!!

I've got two years before I'm applying. Grades aren't a problem, but I need to work on my extracurriculars.

I thought I'd start out with volunteering, since that seems relatively straight forward... But what can I do to make my volunteering efforts stand out from all of the other applicants who do volunteering? What can I do differently?

There's a couple of hospitals near me. The biggest one has no open spots in the emergency department, but has lots of availability if I want to work with the nurses... Should I just take the nurse thing to start off with, or wait until they can get me into the ED?

Is it possible to volunteer in specialty areas? This one hospital said that they only had Emergency department and Pediatrics for their volunteering programs.

Does anyone know of an organization that might help match students with volunteering experiences (not necessarily just hospital)?

Any tricks to making the volunteering experience better? I've never volunteered before and would be open to any suggestions :)

Thanks!!

sunfest :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. DaisukeFire

DaisukeFire New Member

I cant really give you any advice because I'm pretty much in the same boat lol. I start my first time volunteering next week. But if you want to get more exposure to some specialties, you could try shadowing a few physicians.

4. SolidGold

SolidGold Florida winters are the best!
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician