Hospitalist/Nocturnist Locum Job in Dallas/DFW area

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

letmeinwillya

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
New grad, have Texas Medical license, first job post-residency, where to look for Locum Nocturnist positions in Dallas or surrounding areas? Not seeing much in the way of open positions in the area. I'm new to Dallas, spouse already working in the area in non-medical job. Can travel maybe upto 20-50 miles or something if widening the search area will help.

I would appreciate any pointers/places to check? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

1) Find hospitals in locations that seem acceptable
2) Find phone/emails of "director of hospital medicine" or "inpatient medicine lead" or something like that
3) Cold call or email, send an abbreviated CV if emailing, and let them know you are available for XX shifts/month
4) Meet with said people, negotiate a rate (locums undercuts you by about 1/3 the rate, so if locums says they will pay you 150/hr, they are charging the hospital closer to 220 an hour). I would split the difference between what locums would charge and what you would make from locums, so a job like the above ask for 180/hr to cover your 1099 self employment tax (extra 8%) and lack of other health/retirement benefits.
5) When speaking with them, ask them how many shifts a month they need from you to cover your malpractice, and the minimum should be claims made with X years tail, X being the max years that a texas med mal lawsuit can be made after the actual occurence of the event, and better yet would be an occurence policy, which means you are just flat out covered for anything that happened while you were under their direct employ. You should NOT have to pay for your own med mal. Texas also is a favorable state I hear.