• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

How are you lawyers finding med school?

ResIpsa

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2005
    Hi,

I'm a pre-med lawyer applying this cycle, and I wondered how my fellow lawyers are doing in med school. Is it harder or easier than you thought to keep up and do well? How much different is the workload/ studying from law school? I thought law school studying was a joke--one exam at the end of the semester determining your grade really annoyed me and I felt like you could do well, though, by just cramming the last two weeks or so of the semester.

Just wondering how others lawyers feel.

japhy

Ski Bum
    15+ Year Member
    Nov 9, 1999
    Alta, Ut
    1. Resident [Any Field]
      you are right about law school exams being a joke. although i do have a midterm in tax on monday...

i found med school to be much more work than law school. i don't know if i would call the experience harder though. i certainly enjoyed my classes and the med school experience more than law school.

med school is all about staying on top of things. i had exams every 4 weeks or so. the first week i would take it easy, very little studying. the next week i would start reading the notes for class. the last two weeks would be pretty intense sturdying. then rinse and repeat. i think part of the reason i found the workload to be manageable was that i really enjoyed the material. i would come home from class most days and say, "guess what i learned today? it was so cool." that has happened exactly zero times in law school.

i also was in a location where i was able to mountain bike and ski. i had a season pass during 1st and 2nd year and managed to eek out 90-100 days of skiing. it helped keep me in shape and was a great way to unwind.