Medical How can I get general Chemistry pre-medical requirement if I didn't take in high school?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Okay so I'm currently in my second semester of college, and i'm faced with a bit of a dilemma. I dropped out of high school, and I obviously can't go back in time and change the fact that I never took high school chemistry or physics (which is one of the pre-reqs to take Gen Chem 1 at my institution) so my only option is to take CHEM-101 Survey of Chemistry (which I of course will not be able to use as a prereq for Gen Chem 2, nor will it allow me to take Gen Chem 1.) However, my school has introduced to me a unique pathway to be able to take Gen Chem 2, and I'd like to know how adcoms will view this. So next Fall, I'll be taking the survey course, then during the Spring, the same professor will allow me to audit his Gen Chem 1 class (for which I'll receive an AU on my transcript.) All of the professors here that teach Gen Chem 2 will allow students following this pathway (whom haven't taken high school chemistry or physics) to take their Gen Chem 2 class. How will this be looked at by med schools? I'm constantly hearing from people in medicine about how understanding they are towards certain circumstances. Will this potentially be one of them? Thanks in advance.
This approach will not fulfill the published admission requirement of many med schools. You need a graded, in-person class for the prerequisites, including Chem I, or your application list of potential med schools will be seriously limited. Yes, some schools don't "require" Chem I. And some "might" provide a waiver of the requirement, but if they won't or can't, it might be too late to get the class in prior to matriculation, and then you would not be allowed to start med school.