Apr 13, 2010
Status
Pre-Dental
I have my bachelors in Mechanical Engineering and have been working that field for 3 years. Because of this, I have the physics and some of the chemistry pre reqs. I'm planning on going back this Fall and spring to take Biology and Organic Chemistry. That would allow me to take the DAT next spring, but by the time I could apply to dental schools I would potentially not be able to start until the following fall. Is there another way I should be going about this? Two years is a lot of time to be out of real work. I would also use that time to get some shadowing experience and volunteer work, but I still have to be able to pay the bills.

Also, is it possible for me to get a paying job in the dental field with the experience I have now? I'm just concerned about being able to pay my mortgage while trying to get this ball rolling. Any suggestions you have would be appreciated.

dentalWorks

Nights Watchmen
7+ Year Member
Jun 25, 2009
Sterling Hts, Mi
Status
Dentist
your an engineer now, I am assuming you make 50-70k a year. Unfortunately no dental job out there (unless your an office manager, or hygienist, or the dentist himself) that will get you to make even 1/2 of that income....

But the good news is, you don't have to put a time restraint to how fast you need to complete your pre-reqs. I know many of us wanna finish them asap and get into dental school but the problem is, some of us have jobs, obligations, bills, payments, did I say bills? You get my point, you can't expect us to quit everything just to become students again..... So for people like you, you should stay at your engineering job, and take part time night courses at your local 4-year university. I think this is your best route