How Can I Improve My HPI?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maldon

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a second year med student currently doing my first few H&P write-ups for a physical diagnosis course. My first write-up did not go so well, and I received a failing grade on the write-up. My preceptors noted that the HPI was incomplete and that I should have asked more questions about the patients CC. I've taken this to heart and tried to write my second H&P with these criticisms in mind but I am still paranoid that I have not fleshed out the patient's story enough. Writing up the H&P has been a really arduous process for me and I would appreciate if anybody could give me feedback on what I've written and how I could improve it.

Thanks! Here's what I have so far....

CC: “I can’t breathe and I feel fluid in my chest”

HPI: Patient is a 49-year old male with a history of myocardial infarction and congestive heart failure who presented to the hospital complaining of shortness of breath and chest congestion for the last 6 days. Patient states that he began waking up at night experiencing increasing dyspnea and chest congestion.

Patient disclosed that he has been having difficulty adhering to a low-sodium diet recommended by his doctor and that his symptoms become worse whenever he eats salty foods or drinks too much fluid. However, he does report that when he awakens that dangling his feet off the edge of the bed helps alleviate his symptoms.

He denies feeling congestion anywhere besides his chest or experiencing edema. He denies experiencing chest pain, abdominal pain, fever, cough, nausea, vomiting, appetite change, or weight gain.