How can I stay current?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LouisianaDoctor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a non-traditional, etc, student. I've been out of school for two years. I just got my Step 2 CK score in and will be participating in the 2012 match. I'm currently studying for my Step 2 CS.

My concern is how can I "stay current" with my knowledge so that I'm not a blank slate when I start residency? I will be going into Family Med. I am going to study for, and try to pass, Step 3 before I start residency. Will studying for Step 3 help keep all my knowledge fresh?

Has anyone been in a similar situation and have any good recommendations?

TY

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,
I am going to study for, and try to pass, Step 3 before I start residency.
TY

Why are you trying to take step 3 before residency? On my FM rotation all the residents were saying that the first year of their residency was basically like studying for step 3. Unless there is a really compelling reason I might wait until you're a pgy1.

Hi all,

I'm a non-traditional, etc, student. I've been out of school for two years. I just got my Step 2 CK score in and will be participating in the 2012 match. I'm currently studying for my Step 2 CS.

My concern is how can I "stay current" with my knowledge so that I'm not a blank slate when I start residency? I will be going into Family Med. I am going to study for, and try to pass, Step 3 before I start residency. Will studying for Step 3 help keep all my knowledge fresh?

Has anyone been in a similar situation and have any good recommendations?

TY

Residency generally expects you to have ******ed significantly by the time you walk in the front door. Lots of programs talk about "dusting off the cobwebs" or "jumpstarting a fourth year brain." So, even if you dont recall everything, that's ok.