How can I support my significant other during residency?

AMMx52

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a recent PhD graduate (28 years old) who is dating a second year resident (40 years old—obviously a later in life choice to go to med school ) for the past 6 months In the beginning he was still getting adjusted to his residency for his speciality and had more free time. We spent an abundance of time together (5-7 days a week) until December (3-4 days per week) because of projects, presentations, and studying. This month he has a few more projects and in house exams so he informed me that he will be very focused on that which I completely understand and support. I feel bad because next weekend we already had plans for him to attend a wedding with me so it limits his study time that weekend. I told him he could cancel if he wanted to but he refuses to and still wants to tag along.

My question is how can I support him through these times in residency? Is there anything I can do to make it easier on him? (I have to ask here because if I ask him he will tell me not to worry about it and that he has it under control!) Even though we haven’t been together long I am very proud of him, his hard work, and the genuine empathy he has for his patient so I want to convey that to him.

We don’t live together so it’s not like I have the ability to help out daily or to know what he always needs help with. He’s always hungry so I went ahead and made homemade meals for the freezer so he just has to pop them in the oven to get a good meal. I contacted a cleaning company and got a gift certificate for a complete house cleaning. These are the little things that he worries about that I know how to help with. Just wondering if there is something I’m missing or any tips/tricks from spouses/partners. Let me tell you—dating a physician is way more difficult than I imagined.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users