Great Satchmo

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 15, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Post Doc
So I applied to clinical psychology Ph.D. programs this past cycle, and I graduated in May with my B.A. in psych (nearly a minor in computer science). I have a 3.6 overall, 3.8/3.85 last 2 years/in major. I scored 620v 650q and 5.5 (I believe, it was ~90%tile for the verbal and writing) on the GRE. During undergrad I had 2 RAships, 1 TA (for abnormal psych), board member for Psi Chi, volunteer work with Autism Speaks, an undergraduate research grant, conference presentation, co-author on a textbook chapter, and have 2 papers in the works. I also spent about 2 months full time tutoring/teaching small groups of low SES-youth, mild learning disabilities, using a cognitive model.

Not all of that was there last year for applications, but some was. I got interviews at Uniform Services University of the Health Sciences and UT Southwesten, got wait listed at Cincinnati.

Now I am a full time research assistant at Stanford, I have 2 PI's so I am working on a project that has to do with health behaviors and social/environmental influences, and then I'm working on developing an intervention for behavior change and health behaviors. I should hopefully be able to gain some more publication in this job before the next application cycle.

So I guess my question is this: after this next year of a full time research assistantship, probably volunteering at a hospital, maybe some other stuff on the side....how competitive will I be?

D

deleted176373

Not all of that was there last year for applications, but some was. I got interviews at Uniform Services University of the Health Sciences and UT Southwesten, got wait listed at Cincinnati.

how competitive will I be?

Don't give up on USUHS, many people get in their second time around. As a matter of fact many of us have interviewed or applied to USUHS more than once. The second round seems to really pay off.