How competitive would it be to apply in January for rolling admissions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rxh172

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.
I recently figured out a way I could start optometry school in 2016 if I can get in. My school of choice started accepting on a rolling basis July 2015. I am worried whether my application would be a waste by January. I have my OAT scheduled for the beginning of December and hope to get everything in by late January.
My stats are 3.8 GPA, 3.9 science, University of Miami, Bio and Microbio double major graduating with honors, but I am afraid my OAT score will not be strong because I was looking into admissions for 2017 and this change in date has been so recent. I just started studying a month ago. Bio has been fine but the orgo has been a nightmare of things to re-memorize.
Am I crazy/foolish to try to apply this round? Should I even take the OAT in December or wait until I feel absolutely ready?

Members don't see this ad.

January is getting the point where it is late and a lot of schools are getting a lot more applications. However, your GPA is very competitive. Assuming the rest of you application is good I would go for it. You can always send in your application and have everything verified before taking the OAT. So you could even take the test a bit later if that would make you feel more comfortable. Some people even of had interviews before they take the OAT like at ICO. I would have my application in by December and then take the test in January if you feel uncomfortable about the OAT at this point.

Also for ochem, look into Chad videos. He makes the material a lot more manageable in my opinion. Less memorization and more understanding the material and how it will be tested.

Good luck!

Hi everyone.