This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedLove _02

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I am a communication disorders student who is having a rather hard time choosing what field I would like to go into. I have always been very attracted to the medical field as I genuinely enjoy helping people, in addition to some intense childhood experiences regarding my health. Because of this, I always thought that perhaps I should choose the medical school/ pa school path. The only problem here is I am not the best student when it comes to math (science I can handle for the most part with some regular studying). For one reason or another, math just does not stick for me, and I fear that if I do go down the road of med school I wont be able to keep up, or Ill mess up and cause someone some real problems. I also worry about the work life balance as I am someone who would like to have a family later on.

Now on the flip side, I have always enjoyed English and writing as it has always come naturally to me. With that, close family members have been pushing the idea to become a lawyer... and I'm not opposed to it, I enjoy law as well. With my background, it seems like its the more logical choice: No math, relatively stable with income, working with words (something I seem to be naturally good at) etc.

What it boils down to in my opinion, is a relatively stable job that I wont hate, and can actually derive some enjoyment from. Both law and medicine are noble professions, I just rather not start one, have a change of heart, and be thousands of dollars in debt on top of pursuing another field.

I was wondering if anyone could share their experiences with deciding to choose a medical career? What was the deciding factor that made you realize that medicine was what you wanted to do, and not something else? How can I get some experience in the medical field to see if its a right fit?

Thanks in advance.