How difficult is it to match into residency in California as an OOSer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eyejust

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am an incoming medical student and will be attending a Top 20 school in the Midwest this upcoming fall. I have family in California, specifically the Bay Area, and am very interested in moving out there for residency to be with them and ultimately settle there. I never lived in or attended school in California, so my only tie would be non-immediate family (think aunts, cousins, uncles, etc.). Is it difficult to match into a residency in California with just these ties? Do these ties even give any advantage, considering they're not immediate family or a significant other,compared to someone without any ties at all?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi Everyone,

I am an incoming medical student and will be attending at Top 20 school in the Midwest this upcoming fall. I have family in California, specifically the Bay Area, and am very interested in moving out there for residency to be with them and ultimately settle there. I never lived in or attended school in California, so my only tie would be non-immediate family (think aunts, cousins, uncles, etc.). Is it difficult to match into a residency in California with just these ties? Do these ties even give any advantage, considering they're not immediate family or a significant other,compared to someone without any ties at all?

Getting into California is challenging, especially when you don't go to school there. Matching into places like SD, LA, SF is going to be exceptionally hard as these are some of the most competitive locations.