How difficult is your medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

How difficult is your medical school?

• I'm a P student and it's worse than I expected

Votes: 14 12.5%
  • I'm a P student and it's not that bad

Votes: 26 23.2%
  • I'm a HP student and it's worse than I expected

Votes: 7 6.3%
  • I'm a HP student and it's not that bad

Votes: 27 24.1%
  • I'm an H studet and it's getting to be too much

Votes: 8 7.1%
  • I'm and H student and I can handle it.

Votes: 30 26.8%

• Total voters

rachmoninov3

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Since the thread discussing the current suicides at baylor and ku has mentioned this, I thought it be good to discuss how difficult/stressful your medical school is.
Now of course this is just a matter of opinion and goals. Many people have said it's easy to pass med school, but stupidly hard to ace it.

I'm a HP type of student myself, and so while I try for the H, I'm generally happy with 80%. I personally found my med school to be much easier than I had expected. Rarely is a final worth more than 60% of our grade, and we only have three concurrent classes: 1. organ-based block including path, and pharm. 2 Clinical skills, and 3. Clinic. With only the first 2 classes having "grades" going to our transcripts. Even with as easy a course load as this is, I still know of a few people who have suffered from MDD during the first and second years.

Therefore, I'm not sure how making the curriculum easier would prevent MDD and suicides.

Now if we actually were treated like something other than grader schoolers by our professors, perhaps that would help.

Anyway, please describe how tough/easy you think your school is and vote in the poll.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: