How do DO schools view not having a committee letter?

nm825

5+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Mar 11, 2012
Status
I'm pretty close to having a nervous breakdown here. My school committee requires a minimum of 3 LOR (one from a science professor, one from a professor in your major (economics), and a third LOR). The committee has a deadline of February 28.

Unfortunately, I graduated last May and idiotically really never made an effort to get to know my science professors. It's absolutely killing my inside that I didn't, but at this point, it is what it is. I've emailed one who I think might remember me to see if I could get something generic, but he hasn't responded. I am going to give it a few more days, and if he doesn't respond, I might send another email or email the other professors whose classes I got As in, even though they don't know me.

Regardless, I was planning on taking a class at a community college to try and get a decent science letter before I apply in June. Now, if I can't get anyone to respond, I am going to have to take a second science class, pray I do well in both, and try to get a second LOR from a community college.

My question is how bad is it that I might not have a committee letter but instead just use a group of letters? Second, and maybe more importantly, how bad does it look that my only two science letters are from a community college after I already graduated? For the record, my stats are going to be pretty competitive for DO schools (3.66, 3.43, 13/11/11 = 35 MCAT) and my other LORs will be fairly strong (economics professor, work supervisor, and a DO).

guylewis

5+ Year Member
Jul 2, 2013
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I didn't have a committee letter. but then again my school didn't do committee letters. but the individual letters were totally cool for the places I applied at. None of my interviewers or adcoms ever mentioned anything about the committee letter to me, come to think of it.

chizledfrmstone