How do extracurricular and volunteering expectations differ for non-trad applicants? How are you all going about ECs and volunteering?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ihave Nonamè

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an older student (nearing 29) entering senior year of undergrad. I worked in a restaurant for several years while at a CC. Prior, I worked in a gym as a trainer. I did not volunteer or participate in extracurriculars in that time. I joined a lab this last school year but Covid19 shut it all down. I had barely been with them for a month.

So I'm trying to plan for the following school year. There are a few (paid) patient transport positions available in my area that require 20-24 hours/week. I was hoping for something around 10hrs but am having no luck. I see that clinical/patient experience is a priority and 20 hrs/wk would at least allow me to catch up in that regard...

But I'm also eager to get back into a lab in the fall, and I am interested in tutoring/TAing for Physiology in Winter (necessary to get to know LOR writers). Some say I need non-clinical volunteering and some say shadowing is necessary as the requirement is not met by the clinical work....And clubs are a last priority I understand but in light of recent times have considered sitting in on Black Student Union meetings. It's certainly a lot.

Is there an understanding that an older student might not have the same ECs/volunteering or are the expectations the same as they are for the typical applicant?