How do I become an dental assistant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Springs01

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm new to SDN. I hope I'm asking this question in the correct section.

Anyways, I have a couple of questions that I hope you guys could answer.

I'm thinking to applying to Dental school, but I want to get more insight on the job. So I want to do dental assisting for a while. I have no idea how you become a dental assistant but I've heard you have to get training. Some of my local community colleges offer training for two semesters. I'd sign up for it immediately, but I'm currently a full-time undergrad. at a private university. So here are my questions:

1. Can I attend two colleges at the same time? ( I don't want fin. aid for the community college)

2. Is this how most people get their assisting certificate? Are there easier/faster ways to become a dental assistant?

3. Is it easier/faster to become a dental hygienist?

Thanks in advance for all of your answers!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone. I'm new to SDN. I hope I'm asking this question in the correct section.

I'm thinking to applying to Dental school, but I want to get more insight on the job. So I want to do dental assisting for a while. I have no idea how you become a dental assistant but I've heard you have to get training. Some of my local community colleges offer training for two semesters. I'd sign up for it immediately, but I'm currently a full-time undergrad. at a private university. So here are my questions:

1. Can I attend two colleges at the same time? ( I don't want fin. aid for the community college)

2. Is this how most people get their assisting certificate? Are there easier/faster ways to become a dental assistant?

Welcome to the most addicting forum ever. lol

I don't know much about assisting but I will tell you what I do know.