MD How do I get into medical school? 3.5 GPA, little ecs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sweetamazement

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore. microbio major. 3.5 gpa, no significant ec. No volunteering

I wanna apply after junior year so that I can go to med school right after senior year. I have 20 hours of shadowing and volunteered at hospital for 2 summers (maybe 100 hrs total? i didn't count). i have also worked as a calculus tutor for 6 months, and as a receptionist for a year part-time. oh, i also "volunteered" in a research lab as a research assistant for 2 months (3-4 hours per week), but kinda quit to focus on learning.

I'm an average college kid, and don't want to take any time off after school, just want to go straight to med school. I have about a year to prepare my resume, and will take MCAT in the fall.

What can I do to have the best possible chance of getting into med school? I can only afford to apply to 15-20 schools, and my gpa is only a 3.5, so I need to apply only to the schools that I have the highest chance of getting in, but I only have one state school and they have high out of state acceptances, so thats a problem. Im currently working as a calculus tutor and doing some shadowing once a week (internal medicine physician).

I also really want MD school, not DO school, because of some licensure problems in some states.

what med schools should I be looking to apply to?

Members don't see this ad.

"licensure problem in some states"

DOs can practice in every single state in the US of A and 60 other countries.

You're only a sophomore so you have time. Get that GPA up, make as close to a 4.0 from here on. Get into some more volunteering...find a hospital to volunteer at and go there regular (3-4 hours a week for 1-2 yrs)...find somewhere to volunteer that's non-clinical and go there for a long time.