Quantcast

MD How do I improve in year 2?

Achieve USMLE Step PREP Success | Picmonic
This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ciestar

All grown up!
7+ Year Member
    Reaction score
    Honestly, towards the end of MS1, I was struggling big time. The burnout was real and I was failing more exams than I was passing. (Luckily, I scored high on many of the exams in these courses prior to this disaster, so i wasnt in much danger of failing). The exception being neuroscience. Nearly failing the course really light a fire under my butt and I studied HARD, even spending a lot of hours getting 1 on 1 tutoring with an instructor.

However, I don't want to run into a you're failing and must do this again scenario. I don't know how to fix this. At this point, I have a panicky, doom and gloom mindset. Ive been discouraged for a while and it makes it even HARDER to get motivated.

I still have a few more weeks of summer break left. Is there anything I can do, especially now, to try and get this under control?

Thanks!

Moose A Moose

10+ Year Member
    Reaction score
    Relax over break. Get your mind in the right place, and then go hard from the start. Not much else you can do. Meditation may help.

Reactions: 2 users

Hakuna Matata

Reaction score
    Relax this summer and start fresh for M2. I was exactly the same way at end of M1 and was genuinely convinced I would fail out partly because I felt burnt out. You're not the only one who gets to that point. Try to recharge this summer and destress as best as you can.

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: 1 user

LyMed

2+ Year Member
    Reaction score
    Self awareness and reflection on what worked and what didn't. A positive outlook.
    Both of these can carry you pretty far in life. Best wishes.

Reactions: 1 users

hopefulERdoc251

5+ Year Member
    Reaction score