General Admissions & OTCAS How do OT schools calculate cumulative GPA if more than one school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trep

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone.

So I was wondering how OT schools calculate your cumulative GPA if you have courses at multiple institutions. For instance, my cumulative GPA at the college where I got my degree was a 3.288, but I have about a 3.5 cumulative GPA at a community college where I took courses as well. Do they simply average the GPAs or do they base it on credit hours, etc?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

To my knowledge it'll always be by credit hours, and grades earned at all institution attended toward your undergrad degree will count.
So if someone has a 3.8 their first two semesters (30 credits), and a 3.0 average for there next 3 years (90 credits). The 3.0 will be weighed in much heavier.

To my knowledge it'll always be by credit hours, and grades earned at all institution attended toward your undergrad degree will count.
So if someone has a 3.8 their first two semesters (30 credits), and a 3.0 average for there next 3 years (90 credits). The 3.0 will be weighed in much heavier.

Thanks for the response Emily. Your post seemed to imply that credits only count before your undergrad degree is conferred, so does that mean that courses taken after you have been awarded your degree don't count toward your cumulative GPA, even if the courses are taken at the institution that you did not acquire your degree from?

Members don't see this ad :)
Thanks for the response Emily. Your post seemed to imply that credits only count before your undergrad degree is conferred, so does that mean that courses taken after you have been awarded your degree don't count toward your cumulative GPA, even if the courses are taken at the institution that you did not acquire your degree from?
No, sorry that is not what I meant.