How do Psych Residency programs get notified of Step 2 Scores, do they care?

centroles

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 6, 2006
Status
?

PLEASE HELP.

I am an Carribean medical student and have a rather low Step 1 score. But I have two months off now and know that I can do STELLAR on the Step 2 if I take it end of Sept.

I plan to take Step 2 at end of Sept, fill out my ERAS application, and submit my ERAS Application in late October once my Step 2 score is available. I don't want residency programs to discard my application before getting a chance to see my high step 2 score.

So I'm wondering, will any of the lesser competitive psych residency programs simply stop looking at ERAS applications recieved in November and after.

I'm applying to Psych, IM and FM btw.

Please help. I would greatly appreciate your input. Thank you very much.

Last edited:
OP
C

centroles

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 6, 2006
Status
Please help. If you need more detail about my situation...

I won't be able to take my Step 2 until mid september at the earliest. But I will be doing extremely extremely well on my Step 2.

If I submit my ERAS on Sept 1st and transmit my step 2 score to all the programs I'm interested in in mid october, how will residency directors get notified of my score?

Will they have to reopen my file/application to see my score, or will they get my score directly, and be convinced based on my score to take a second look at the rest of my application.

I just don't want any residency programs to discard my file based on my below average application without ever seeing my step 2 score.

Indryd

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 30, 2005
Gilead
Status
Medical Student