How does a strong business background contribute to the medical field?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ch0sen1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Being a leader of a large profit business (that involves buying and selling products, and no not drugs lol) that my father started (and I have worked alongside him for a long time), I have learned a lot about business and money management/making. Hundreds of thousands, if not, millions of money has been made in profit in our business in the last 2 years.

And of course, I do not enjoy this for a living and would rather be a physician. I have eyed medical school since day 1 of college, and thats what I want to do as a career.

I am still a junior, however I still always think how I am going to connect this experience to how this may benefit me in medicine; just incase if i were asked this in an interview or even chose to write about my business success in my personal statement and conclude about how this experience will make me stronger than the average applicant (with average stats).

Any ideas?

Members don't see this ad.

Leadership, working as a team, and hardworking. Then go on to say that you couldn't see yourself doing it as a career and say why medicine and the traits you have that would make you a good physician.

I would definitely connect your experience with your essays and the such if you feel that it's made a big impact on you.

As a Finance major myself, I wrote about how having good business sense could be really beneficial in a healthcare setting in a couple of my secondaries, and a little bit in my personal statement. I also brought it up my interviews. Some of my interviewers were really receptive to my majoring in business. A couple of them even said that they thought it was the best undergrad major for medical school.