How hard is it to good into a good med school!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BeastfromthEast

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just wondering since I am kinda new to all this premed stuff: how hard is it to get into a good med school (lets say top ten for example)? what kind of stats would one need to be competitive for admissions there? thanks a bunch!

Members don't see this ad.

You can find a lot of good info in the "What are my chances" thread up at the top of this forum. Just look up the various stats (GPA, MCAT Scores) these people have and what advice they're given about where they have the best chances for admission.

1) Buy this book

2) Medical education is very standardized: lots and lots of national level scantron tests. As such, going to a top 10 school opens way fewer doors than going to a top 10 law, business, or engineering school. Your residencies will judge you by your quantity of published reasearch and your test scores rather than your school's name. In other words, don't stress about gettiing into a 'top ten'.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hmmm well let's see if I can take a stab at this. Below are the stats of a hypothetical person I would think would get into a top ten.

-GPA > 3.8
-MCAT > 35 (though 37+ would be better)
-2+ years of research
-1+ published papers with your name in them
-200 hours shadowing doctors
-300 hours volunteering (includes hospital/ medicine related volunteering and community service - I would join a community service organization and stick with it for all 4 years of college)
-play an instrument for 4+ years (or show dedication to something artsy)
-become a part of a student organization that has a lot of weight on your campus (such as a student council, honor council, diversity council, etc) and stick with it for 3+ years in college. Become President your junior or senior year.