1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

How has physics helped you in med school?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by DAT_MAN, Mar 12, 2007.

1. DAT_MAN

2+ Year Member

2. Agent Splat

Agent Splat Viruses? Don't Exist.
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    helped me understand concepts of resistance in circulation and neural transmission. other than that it was a waste of a year of classes.

but we did get to play with dry ice one day, that was worth about one hour of fun.

oh, and I had a mini-crush on the professor.

3. jonb12997

jonb12997 I'm a doctor!!
    15+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    cardiac conduction physiology... kinda helped there, other than that... um... let's see... nope, I got nothing.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Law2Doc

Law2Doc 5K+ Member
    Physician Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Um, NONE of the prereqs are meant to actually help with med school. These are just hurdles used to separate the wheat from the chaff. The prereqs, along with the MCAT, allow med schools to gauge your ability to handle science courses, because in med school that's the first two years. If you struggled in college sciences, you are likely to struggle worse in the basic science years of med school because the volume is much greater. So no, you won't really use physics in med school. Nor gen chem, nor calc, nor orgo, nor most of bio. But that's not really the point of these courses. They are in some small way a foundation of basic science, and in some big way an obstacle course you must successfully traverse.