how important is PAT and RC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MB111

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey I wrote the DAT twice.
AA 20, TS 21
these are okay but it's my PAT and RC scores.
they were PAT 19, RC 18 the first time
then PAT 18 and RC 17 the second!

My bio and carving went up the second time though. these were both the cDAT scores. retake suggested? Thanks. Oh yah GPA 3.45
thank uuuu!

Members don't see this ad.

did u already get ur score for the cDAT? when did u write ur cDAT? this february?
I am not an expert but people here on SDN said they look heavily on RC

no, i took it awhile back.

Members don't see this ad :)
did u already get ur score for the cDAT? when did u write ur cDAT? this february?
I am not an expert but people here on SDN said they look heavily on RC

They don't look at RC heavily as long as your whole application is competitive.

They don't look at RC heavily as long as your whole application is competitive.

haha, mut9ya gives herself as a prime example of a soso-RC score but a VERY competitive overall application. congrats for ALL your acceptances! well done.

RC and PAT are not the end-all and be-all of an application. And it is definitely possible to get in with relatively low scores as long as there is strength in other parts of your application. But remember that there are some schools that weigh the RC heavily - I read in the annual report for my top choice that they will focus on students who have high RC scores on the DAT, and I feel that it played a major role in my acceptance. I think it's supposed to be a good predictor of future success in dental school or something (no sure, maybe someone in dental school can confirm).