How important is research for a non-trad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

madame.psychosis

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone -- I'm a non-trad planning to apply to MD schools this upcoming cycle and would appreciate some advice about what to do during my gap year.

I know the major gap in my application is my lack of research experience. I'm applying for research assistant jobs, but considering I have no research experience outside of what I've done in the labs for my basic science courses, I think I'm unlikely to get any of these positions. I know I'd have a better shot at getting some sort of part time/volunteer research gig, but I'd also like to have a full time job with benefits, otherwise next year will be financially grim. I'm not sure I'll be able to do both those things.

What I'd like to find out is how important research experience will be for my application, and if I should pursue it at the potential cost of a better full time job. I think the rest of my application is reasonably solid -- 4 years work experience in a humanities-related field, 2 years as a crisis counselor on a hotline, 1 year clinical volunteering. I have a 3.7 GPA from undergrad and a 4.0 so far in my postbac. Of course I haven't taken the MCAT yet and I know that will be a big factor.

Two other things to consider: Though I'd be thrilled to attend any school that takes me, I would really like to be in NYC, where my friends and family are. That means most of my top choices are very selective. Also, I'm fairly confident that I don't want to do research as part of my career, so going to a research heavy school isn't really a priority (except when those schools are in New York).