how late is too late to go to med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ozgur

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all!

I typed the above title in Google search, and it led me here. Am I too old?
I am 28 now, going on 29 this June. I am currently doing IT at a local community college, and was planning to transfer to a 4 year school to get my bachelors. Honestly, my passion since I was kid was medicine.
I had a very tough life, and only now it is getting better. I graduated from high school in 2003, but had to leave my "home country", Iraq, due to an on going civil war. Since 2003, I lived in Turkey as a refugee. Through the UN, I was given a humanitarian visa, by the US government. I entered the US in 2012.
I am doing very well at what I am studying; my GPA so far 3.9, which is fairly high, even in a community college.
My friend put the idea of med school in my head, after I told him that medicine was my passions since I was kid.
I am almost done with my general education, which almost applies for all majors. If change my major to Biology, it would take me 2.5 years to get my bachelors degree. I will be 31/32 when I graduate!
Will I be too old to go to med school at 32?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all!

I am 28 now, going on 29 this June. I am currently doing IT at a local community college, and was planning to transfer to a 4 year school to get my bachelors. Honestly, my passion since I was kid was medicine.
I had a very tough life, and only now it is getting better. I graduated from high school in 2003, but had to leave my "home country", Iraq, due to an on going civil war. Since 2003, I lived in Turkey as a refugee. Through the UN, I was given a humanitarian visa, by the US government. I entered the US in 2012.
I am doing very well at what I am studying; my GPA so far 3.9, which is fairly high, even in a community college.