How managab;le is a double major in English Literature and Spanish Foreign Language with Pre-Med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

litdoc27

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently taking my general requirements at a junior college and plan to transfer to university in a year. I love reading and am passionate about literature, but I also would really like to learn Spanish and study abroad. I honestly don't think I can choose just either of them, but if I have to I'll probably just minor in one of them. But I'm curious as to whether or not this is often done. I also like the idea of studying both English and Spanish to better compare and contrast the two, and since my main goal is medical school....and I will be dedicated my entire life to science and medicine as a doctor, I want to take my undergraduate years to learn something I might never get the chance to full focus on again, but I don't know if these two interests will completely overload me or not.

Is this a manageable course load? Will a Spanish major really help me actually learn the language fluently? Is it worth it?

Members don't see this ad.

With the new requirements for the new MCAT it may be a little much but entirely possible. People double major all the time. It's much easier with a humanities major. Majoring in Spanish doesn't guarantee fluency. In fact, I hear a lot from the Spanish majors at my college and previous college that majoring in Spanish is not an effective way to gain fluency because they focus on all aspects e.g. reading/writing/speaking. The commitments at the two schools I've been to, as far as the language classes, are kind of meek. The work for your English and Spanish classes will be minor compared to your sciences classes.