How many credits did you take...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

La Presse

Due to the fact....
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am wondering how many credits you took while studying for the MCAT. Please include other info like what classes in particular and other obligations.

Thanks guys.

Sent from my iPad using SDN Mobile app.

Members don't see this ad.

I am wondering how many credits you took while studying for the MCAT. Please include other info like what classes in particular and other obligations.

Thanks guys.

I started studying from Sept. 2011 - Apr. 2012.

Studied for the MCAT ~2-3 hours every day; took a practice exam every 2~3 weeks

- Volunteering at a children's hospital (2nd semester)
- Leadership position on campus that dealt w/ student health issues (1st semester was a gnarly one...)
- A co-advisor for a YMCA program every week
- A volunteer coordinator for a mentoring program
- Peer advisor to freshmen (1st sem)
- Weekly chemistry tutor (2nd sem)
- Shadowing almost every week (usually Tuesdays for ~5-6 hours)

1st semester:

Genetics, Analytical chem w/ lab, chemistry seminar, Western Civilizations: Genetically Modified Crops, Leadership training, teaching assistant, and biological psychology

18 credits

Genetics took a lot of time and so did the Western Civilizations class (policy paper that required extensive research in the realm of GMO's)

2nd semester (I planned so that I would take a lot fewer credits):

Dissemination of chem research (writing a long paper on my beer research), American Immigrant Literature, Leadership training, Developmental psychology, personality & individual differences, and interpersonal communication

14 credits

Last edited:
I started studying from Sept. 2011 - Apr. 2012.

Studied for the MCAT ~2-3 hours every day; took a practice exam every 2~3 weeks

- Volunteering at a children's hospital (2nd semester)