How many gap years did you take?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ariax

Membership Revoked
Removed
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm feeling a little bummed about having to take 2 gap years prior to med school. I ideally would have liked to do only one gap year (so applying after graduation) but after I realized what a screw up I've been I realize I'm not ready to apply next cycle so I will be applying in June 2017.

How many years did you all take after you bachelors to start medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

Eleven. I took eleven gap years. (Not technically after I finished my bachelors, but still.)

Reactions: 1 user
Haha career-changers are a bit different. I was pre-med since like freshman year but have messed up many times over so I'm paying the price now

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm just trying to give you a bit of perspective. A couple of years is nothing to be upset about in the grand scheme of things.

Reactions: 4 users
I have a friend who took like 6. Currently at UVM! Med schools love people who have real world experience. Plus most of the people I know who did gap years say looking back it was some of the best years in their life because they got to have a lot of freedom/experience and a SOCIAL LIFE in their early 20s before selling their soul to medicine. So kudos to you for being mature enough to take an extra year or two. More pre-meds could probably use a bit of that haha.

I took 3 and I'm really happy I did. First of all you get some time to really enjoy life outside of school during your 20s. I moved to an awesome city, got a bunch of roommates, made great friends and a SO. Secondly I also feel like I relate more to the residents/attendings than the kids fresh out of undergrad.

2, though I wasn't planning on the 2nd one.

I took three gap years, and I'm thankful that I did.