How many med schools did/will you apply to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

idandps

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a Sophomore premed and just want to have a feeling of how many schools I should apply to. I read on a magazine that some people applied to over 20 schools :eek: . Considering that average cost of traveling to schools for interviews is ~$500, and asumming that a person received interview offers by 10 schools out of 20, that's $5000+20*($100)(application fee)=$7000 spent on the whole process, and after addomg books/prep course fee to that, that's almost $10,000. I think that's some serious cash.

So it would be nice if I could know
1) how many schools did you apply to or are you planning to apply to and
2) is there any way to make the trips cheaper?
3) or should I get a job and begin saving for the money? :oops:

I am thinking about applying to 10 med schools. :)

Thank you guys.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in Texas, so I am only applying to the Texas schools. :thumbup:

idandps said:
I'm a Sophomore premed and just want to have a feeling of how many schools I should apply to. I read on a magazine that some people applied to over 20 schools :eek: . Considering that average cost of traveling to schools for interviews is ~$500, and asumming that a person received interview offers by 10 schools out of 20, that's $5000+20*($100)(application fee)=$7000 spent on the whole process, and after addomg books/prep course fee to that, that's almost $10,000. I think that's some serious cash.

Thank you guys.
I'd expect to spend 3k-5k. There are a few flaws to your figures.
1) Most people won't get 10 interviews.
2) Most people have a state school or two that they can drive to thus lowering your interview $$.

Members don't see this ad :)
idandps said: