How many medical schools are you applying to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

guitarguy23

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a master's student applying this cycle for Fall '11, and I just wanted to get an idea of how many schools a lot of you are applying to.

I hear numbers like 20, 30 and sometimes 40 schools people apply to and I want to figure out how many I should probably apply to (considering I'm a graduate student and not an undergrad).

Any general advice about a rough amount of schools I should apply to as an MS student getting a research degree? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

With MD and DO schools, my total will be 20-30. I am not the best candidate so this approach makes sense.

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't think it matters if u're a masters student or not, actually. I think 20 is pretty normal. Chances are, u're not gonna want to finish all ur secondaries when they come in, so it'll actually be less than that. If ur app seems more competitive, then u can probably apply to less schools (10 can be risky - u never know what the schools r looking for, even if ur gpa & mcat scores r amazing). Just be sure to apply broadly...some ppl get a little too cocky when choosing schools to apply to.

I only filled out 6 secondaries because I ran into a financial crisis. However, I'd say at the minimum you ought to do 12. Ideally, I would have done 20.

I'm a master's student applying this cycle for Fall '11, and I just wanted to get an idea of how many schools a lot of you are applying to.

I hear numbers like 20, 30 and sometimes 40 schools people apply to and I want to figure out how many I should probably apply to (considering I'm a graduate student and not an undergrad).

Any general advice about a rough amount of schools I should apply to as an MS student getting a research degree? Thanks!