How many more clinical hours should I get?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

barness

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

I graduated from college Springs 2020, and have spent my 1st gap year so far working in clinical research. I started at the beginning of August and worked full time as a clinical research coordinator until early october then got another coordinator role with another company doing covid vaccine trials. Adding my work hours together, in week or so I will have 480 hours worked. I'm planning on taking the MCAT early March, and my current job doesn't give me much time or leave me with much energy to study. I was wondering, how many more hours should I try to get before moving part time/quitting entirely to study full time?

My other stats are as follows:

I graduated from a good state school.

Major: Biochemistry
GPA: 3.72
sGPA: 3.73
Research hours: (mostly bench work and whatnot) 2000

Publications/Presentations: 1 presentation and 1 authorship (not main)

Volunteering: 50 (clinical) + 120 (non-clinical) = 170 total
(I'm in the process of applying to join big brother big sisters)

Extracurricular: I started a pre-health club with some classmates, and was treasurer

Shadowing: 0 (Lost my opportunity last spring due to covid, and am working on finding docs to shadow) (Side note: both my parents are Doctors, so I have an understanding of what day to day is like and there lives outside of medicine)

Previously, I took the MCAT and got a 505. I didn't make a proper plan or schedule, but spent a lot of time studying. I know where and how to improve now, but need the time to do it.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.