how many recommendation letters is enough ?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by determined little korean girl, Apr 16, 2002.

1. determined little korean girl

I'm a sophomore in college now and I read that I should begin compiling a collection of recommendation letters . How many recommendations is enough ? Would more letters = better ? Should they only be from Science professors ? Or should I have letters from teachers from a variety of subjects ? Preparing for med school is so nerve -wrecking . If I'm already feeling like this , I don't know how I'm going to deal with the waiting process for acceptance letters . XP~ .

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Neuronix

Neuronix Total nerd
    Administrator Physician PhD Faculty SDN Advisor

Attending Physician
    The pre-med committee at my school wants the following letters:
    3 science recs (research and/or classroom)
    2 non-science recs (same)
    1 - 2 volunteer/doctor recs
    1 - 2 personal/work recs

The numbers of letters vary by med school and I think my pre-med committee asks for that many letters of recommendation because that will cover the requirements of any med school. If you shoot for the same, I think you will have enough.

4. analu

analu Senior Member

Quality over quantity...make sure that you're highly selective of the people you ask LOR's from. Choose people who know you WELL and who WANT to write a positive letter for you. Also, most schools want confidential LOR's, so you'll need to set up a credentials file at your school.

aloha

5. Epi

Epi Fuzzy Tiger

Medical Student
    you should probably have at least 2 from science professors that taught you in class. You should research individual schools and see what they want b/c each school is different. then you can cover all of your bases.

6. vyc

vyc Senior Member

definitely quality over quantity.

also, ask professors who KNOW you.