How many schools and which schools to apply to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ocwaveoc

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys.
My stats are a bit on the low end and am trying to get some opinions on:

1) Whether I should try to apply to pretty much anything under the sun in hopes of getting in somewhere or apply to ones I have chances at along with some that may be a bit out of reach.
2) Names of schools you think I have some chances at given my stats.

Overall GPA 3.41
BCPM 3.8
AO 3.2
MCAT to be taken in Aug/07 but say 30P
Physical therapist (BS degree)
I'm an older (in my late 30s) applicant

I've done some research on schools using the "US News' Ultimate guide to medical schools". But, I thought I'd get some opinions from actual applicants. Also, I'm a resident of Hawaii, though I don't get classified as a resident for the University of Hawaii's medical school and get classified as a non resident. I did live in California from 1982 - 2004. So, I am not a "resident" at Hawaii or California.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

there's nothing low about a 3.4/3.8

it really depends on which state you live in. i say don't shoot for Harvard, but you should have a good chance at some middle-tier schools.

being older will probably help you as well.

Yeah, according to the stats, I only have about a handful of private schools which I my stats are reasonably close to the accepted stats. If my GPA is lower by more than 0.2 of the accepted GPA (so anything above 3.61 as the mean accepted GPA), I plan on not applying to them. So you are saying I should still apply to them?
Thanks

Members don't see this ad :)
Your stats are nearly identical to mine (my BCPM is tiny bit lower, AO a little bit higher) and I haven't taken the MCAT either. I've had quite a few people tell me I'm fine with my numbers.