How much do preclinical grades matter compared to boards scores?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheCruelOne

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 2nd year student and I'm hoping someone can give me a little advice about how much preclinical grades matter down the road when applying to residencies. I'm currently doing well in my pre-clinical courses with about B+ average in most classes and a few A-'s. We recently learned our cumulative class average was ~85% and I'm currently at an 88% average, however I honestly don't feel like I genuinely KNOW the information that we've learned. My memory is pretty horrible and I feel like I've forgotten a large portion of what we learned as M1s, and I even start forgetting a lot of info as soon as I finish taking an exam on that given subject.

After talking to some friends, we additionally feel like our school's exams don't really give us the best prep for boards compared to some other medical schools. We're tested on a lot of minutiae and when I study for tests, I feel like I'm just memorizing the points that I think each lecturer will test me on. My friend talked about the idea of purposely not focusing too much on lecture material and placing more emphasis on starting to study the board-relevant info as we continue through the systems.

I'm really conflicted because I feel like if I keep placing so much emphasis on our lectures, I'll actually be behind the game when it comes to learning what I need to for boards. At the same time, I'm scared to compromise my pre-clinical grades in favor of studying just the board-relevant stuff because I know our lecturers will test us on random details. I'm not sure if there's some kind of happy medium I can achieve where I learn the lecture content and still perform well on tests, but still learn and retain the board-relevant content as we keep going along through the systems.