How Much Does School Reputation Matter When Applying to Residency Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slatenator

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a pre-pharmacy student with multiple admissions offers to schools and am seeking an honest opinion on how much the reputation of a pharmacy school matters when attempting to get accepted to a residency program.

For example, I was admitted to Regis University, a very new school that I suspect is not very prestigious, the University of Washington, a very prestigious school, and the University of Oklahoma, a somewhat presitgious schools but good for me because of in-state tuition rates.

I am hoping to apply to a program in clinical pharmacy (don't know specific specialization yet).

Similar to undergraduate, I suspect that going to a less prestigious school would allow me to get better grades so perhaps the school name vs. the grades I recieve will cancel each other out. Can anyone give me advice on this matter. Thank you so much for your time...

School matters to a point...it depends on the residency you are applying to though. Out of your list I would go to Oklahoma... it is in state = cheaper for you, and it is a well known, good school.

Members don't see this ad :)
Go to the University of Washington- it is a good education, it's an excellent city (I'm a current CA transplant), and you have more options in terms of internship opportunities (multiple hospitals and progressive community pharmacy internships). You can apply for an in-state residency waiver after your first year assuming you get a valid WA drivers license and apply to vote in the state of WA... so you'd only pay out of state tuition for one year.

Good luck.

Lol slate are you lying about getting in because in the OU class of 2014 thread you said you haven't heard back from them yet on your interview?