How much importance does the average gen surg residency place on research and ECs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hippocrates II

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a 3rd-year DO student and I have been enjoying my gen surg rotations a lot more than I had expected to. I'm considering making a pivot from my orig goals (FM/IM) and looking more into surgery, but I'm not sure if my lack of ECs/research are going to hinder me a lot.

The good -

High board scores (26x step 1, 63x comlex 1)
Top quartile class rank

The bad -

No ECs of any kind - literally none.
No research
DO student

How much would I need to address those [correctable] deficiencies to be able to comfortably match into an average program? I'm not gunning for greatness, but I would like to match in a bigger city for the sake of my family. My main concern is that I'm so busy 3rd year, and I have children, that I just don't feasibly see how to do more things like research on top of what I'm already doing. My typical days so far are ~6 am to ~6-7 pm with my commutes and I don't see that letting up for the foreseeable future, so I have a feeling my ECs and research are going to continue to be nonexistent.

Members don't see this ad.

Having no ECs and no research will be a red flag. What will be on your application aside from your step scores?
You can usually get on board a few projects an M3 to show some interest in the field. Attendings always have side projects that need finishing up. Residents can always use help with data collection etc.