Quantcast

How much of your PhD do you lose?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
I am a PhD organic chemist who has done a postdoc and then worked for a couple years. This semester, I started pharmacy school. Since I started, I find myself not reading any literature, thinking much about chemistry, or otherwise keeping up with the field in any real way. Although it has only been a couple months, I can envision getting really behind in the field by the end of 4 years if nothing changes.

I know there are several people on this board who have done graduate school and professional school separately. For those of you who have done this, do you feel that you lost much or your skill set / knowledge base / edge in the field of your graduate studies while working on your professional degree? What have you done to keep up? I know that I should at least keep up with the literature...do any of you realistically do this like you should?

Reaction score
... Since I started, I find myself not reading any literature, thinking much about chemistry, or otherwise keeping up with the field in any real way. ...

Welcome to the quest of being a clinician scientist. In combined dual degree programs, there are enrichment activities to help keeping the critical thinking skills. However, the schism between the thinking, culture, and many other aspects of professional and graduate schools is fairly large. You will need to do a post-doc at some time. The good news is that you can combine your PhD and PharmD fairly well...

QofQuimica

Seriously, dude, I think you're overreacting....
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score