How much shadowing do I need (if I already have sort of experience)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mollyguacomole

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

This is my first time posting, so I'm going to apologize first off if I'm not following some sort of etiquette.

So I'm currently a Junior, and I haven't officially shadowed any doctors while in college. The summer before last though I participated in a 500 hour internship at a center that provides health care to the homeless. Most of this internship revolved around helping the medical director with a quality improvement research project where I shadowed patients throughout the day. As a part of this patient shadowing, I sat in on their nurse and doctor appointments, so probably logged around 100 hours of shadowing ~10 primary care doctors this way.

I shadowed doctors in high school as well (cardiologist, anesthesiologist, and pediatrician and probably did around 75-100 hours) but I know that that doesn't count to put on my application. I already feel like I got what I can out of shadowing and I feel like my time could be better spent doing something else. Looking around at previous threads about shadowing though have made me believe that regardless I need to do some more recent shadowing.

In light of all of this, do I really need to do more shadowing? How much?

Thank you!

-Molly

Members don't see this ad.

I think you are fine. Don't put high school stuff on your application. I've shadowed less than 24 hours total and have had a good cycle so far.

I think you are fine. Don't put high school stuff on your application. I've shadowed less than 24 hours total and have had a good cycle so far.

I agree although I'd be very clear about the shadowing component when you write your description of the internship.

Members don't see this ad :)