How much time did you wait before applying to vet school and was it helpful to you?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LeahKesley

Reaction score
I’m currently a pre-vet student, and finding a vet clinic to gain experience for is pretty difficult during the pandemic. So I’m considering a gap year after my undergraduate. How long did you wait before applying to vet school? Did you have a family in mind? How did that work out?

Members don't see this ad.

I graduated with a bachelor's in May 2019 and had originally planned on applying during the 2019 application cycle, but I waited because 1. I had some classes I wanted to retake for a grade boost 2. I wasn't sure who to ask for an academic eLOR and 3. My SO and I were figuring out our willingness to move out of state and away from both of our families.

In my gap year I retook a few courses (and boosted my last 30/45 GPA), got my letter figured out, and got an additional 1,000+ hours of experience. Honestly, I'm happy I did it. Yeah, it would've been nice to get feedback from some schools and have a better idea of what to expect during this application cycle, but I didn't feel prepared so I didn't force it.

As for the family thing, my SO and I already know that we would be engaged and married while I'm in school, but we are waiting to start a family until after I'm out of school and in a career (whether that's 2025 or a later year). Neither one of us is in a hurry to have kids (we are 23 and 25) so that played a role in the decision since I don't feel like I need to plan around having them as soon as possible. (Does this answer your second question at all?)

Reactions: 2 users