How much will 4 B's in pre-med courses hurt my chances of getting accepted into medical school?

Dec 6, 2019
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
I am a California community college student studying chemistry. As of now, I have received a B in Calculus 1/2 and Physics A/B. My concern is that these classes were all taken at a community college, and I'm worried that it will reflect badly on my abilities because they are viewed as less rigorous than if they had been taken at a university. My community college tends to have hard math classes - I have a friend who took Calc I at Berkeley and then again here and she said that it was harder at the community college level (similar level of rigor but we covered a few more topics here + had no grade curving). My prerequisite grades are as follows:

Calc 1 - B
Calc 2 - B
Calc 3 - A
Statistics - A
Physics 1 - B
Physics 2 - B
GenChem 1 - A
GenChem 2 - A
Ochem 1 - A
Bio series/Physics 3/Ochem 2 - not yet taken

I have all A's in the non-STEM courses I've taken. Also, does anyone know if science courses that are not prerequisites for med school are counted towards your science GPA? Dumb question, I know. When I transfer I will take only chemistry and bio classes and I'm wondering if this will be accounted for in my science GPA. I'm most upset because all of my B's were 87% or higher, but I have no way of showing this since our grading system does not allow for a B+ to show on a transcript. I'm kicking myself for taking 17-20 units a semester and killing my GPA in the process, and I want to know if it's possible that even the more competitive medical schools like those in California would be able to overlook these grades if they can be made up for with extracurriculars and A's from here on out. Can anyone speak from experience on this?

May 15, 2019
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student (Accepted)