Sep 4, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
Okay, y'all, I'm new to posting on SDN, so I hope I'm doing this right. I'm a freshman pre-med at a community college (to save money) and I finished all of my gen eds in high school through dual credit courses. Right now, I'm enrolled in General Bio, General Chem, General Psych, and a one credit tennis class. For next semester, I plan on taking Gen Chem 2, gen bio 2, gen psych 2 (or sociology), and statistics. I'm having trouble planning out my schedule for the next couple years. I plan on being a biochem major, so I need to fit in the rest of my prereq's and major classes. I'm transferring to a university next fall. Could someone lay out a possible timeline for my classes for me and/or give me some tips for planning? Also, what do y'all think of a biochem major for premed? Thank you!

Edit: I know next year I'll take O Chem and the year after that (university) I'll take Biochem.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mellie0

2+ Year Member
Apr 23, 2015
Status
Medical Student
There are some schools that won't accept prereqs taken at a CC, so make sure you investigate those. Otherwise, it seems doable. I always recommend to take it easy at the beginning until you get used to college-level courses and then taking harder courseloads and classes as you go.

OP
L
Sep 4, 2017
Status
Pre-Medical
There are some schools that won't accept prereqs taken at a CC, so make sure you investigate those. Otherwise, it seems doable. I always recommend to take it easy at the beginning until you get used to college-level courses and then taking harder courseloads and classes as you go.
Thank you so much for the reply! I've looked on the websites of the med schools I'm interested. None of them appear to have any issue with it. I'm trying to take the minimal amount of prerequisites at my CC, but also trying to stay here for the cheaper price.

About the Ads

mellie0

2+ Year Member
Apr 23, 2015
Status
Medical Student
Sounds good to me!!

21Rush12