How should I prepare for MS, eventual PhD in epi?

Discussion in 'Public Health Degrees (Masters and Doctoral)' started by KGkhan23, Jun 18, 2008.

1. KGkhan23

Post Doc
    Hey everyone, I'm an undergraduate economics major and have recently become interested in pursuing a career in epidemiology. I am I pretty sure I want to do research in this area, but I can't tell whether other educational paths, such as a PhD in economics, would be more beneficial to this end. (If you want to know why, check out Emily Oster's talk on TED.com) So I'm trying to prepare myself for both degrees.

Anyway, I'm two years in, I haven't taken any science classes aside from from basic chemistry, and basically no math. So I have a few questions:

1.) What do I need to do to maximize my chances of getting into a top MS program in epidemiology? If you can, address whether it's possible to take grad classes while still an undergrad (I am located near Emory), what kind of research positions/jobs will help me out post undergrad, and what classes most people take, beyond what's actually required. Any other information you have is also welcome, of course.

2.) I have an irrational, but nonetheless strong desire to spend some time abroad; how do epi programs at places like McGill, Edinburgh, Imperial College London, and Cambridge compare to those in the united states? Would a masters from one of these places open doors into good PhDs in the US?

3.) Should I consider an MPH as well? I've seen on schools' websites that plenty of PhD students have prior MPH degrees; how does this compare with an MS in terms of getting into a good PhD program? Also, what kind of research experience do I need?

4.) Do I sound ridiculous? I don't know anyone working in public health, and whatever I know about the field or the graduate programs is what I've read on a few schools' websites. If I need a reality check, please, please give me one.