How to alert a medical professional about a patient while they are on break

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychiatricks

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a recent medical graduate working on a inpatient child psych unit as a tech and had an overnight shift with a young nurse.

So shes the ONLY nurse on the unit and a young child wakes up out of bed C/O abdominal pain.

I knock on the door of the break room multiple times. No answer. I open the door and tried to use my voice. No answer. I had to touch her, damn near shake her to wake her up. She wakes startled because I “scared her”.

I tell her about the child, she quickly handles it and goes back to sleep in the break room. Then 10 - 15 minutes later and a female adolescent wakes up C/O of worsening abdominal pain.

I knock on the door twice. Didn’t hear anything and then proceeded to open the door thinking the nurse went back into deep sleep again. This time she opens the door from inside while I was trying to open it.

She handles the teenager and then comes to me and says in a less than friendly tone: “Don’t just open the door after knocking only twice, I’m on break. It’s disrespectful.”

Um what? So are “3 knocks” the magic number? Send help. Is there a certain way to handle this situation moving forward or is she just crazy?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
How many times is she on break? And I'm surprised that there's no break nurse? I'd check up on the rules and regulations. At least on the regular inpatient wards where I work, there is ALWAYS a nurse available. When the nurse takes a break, there is a designated nurse who receives signout and covers. If this young nurse is sleeping on the job, that would be a serious issue.